Warning: file_get_contents(): SSL operation failed with code 1. OpenSSL Error messages: error:1416F086:SSL routines:tls_process_server_certificate:certificate verify failed in /home/klient.dhosting.pl/interpages/lukaszdlugosz.pl/public_html/wp-content/themes/dlugosz/functions/assets-loader.php on line 16

Warning: file_get_contents(): Failed to enable crypto in /home/klient.dhosting.pl/interpages/lukaszdlugosz.pl/public_html/wp-content/themes/dlugosz/functions/assets-loader.php on line 16

Warning: file_get_contents(https://lukaszdlugosz.pl/wp-content/themes/dlugosz/public/assets.json): failed to open stream: operation failed in /home/klient.dhosting.pl/interpages/lukaszdlugosz.pl/public_html/wp-content/themes/dlugosz/functions/assets-loader.php on line 16
Grażyna Pstrokońska-Nawratil

Born 1947 in Wrocław, composer and pedagogue. She studied composition at the State Higher School of Music in Wrocław, first with Stefan Bolesław Poradowski (1966-67), later with Tadeusz Natanson (1967-71). In 1978 he went on to study composition in France with Pierre Boulez and Olivier Messiaen, she attended classes at the Institut de Recherche et de Coordination Acoustique/Musique in Paris and a seminar on Iannis Xenakis’s music in Aix-en-Provence, and gained on work experience at experimental studios in Paris and Marseille. Since 1971 Pstrokońska-Nawratil has been working at the State Higher School of Music in Wrocław, since 1991 heading the Department of Composition and Theory of Music (at present: Department of Composition). In 1993 she was appointed a professor. From 1998 to 2009 she was a lecturer of the Academy of Music in Poznań.

She won a number of competitions for composers, including the Youth Composition of Polish Composers’ Union (1968, 1973), Grzegorz Fitelberg Competition (1972), and International Competition for Women Composers in Mannheim (1975). In 1987 her work Ikar (Icarus) for large symphony orchestra (1979) won the 3rd prize at the International Rostrum of Composers in Paris. In 1989 she received the Wrocław City Award and the Prime Minister’s Award for her works for children and young people. She also received the Adam Chmielowski (Brother Albert) Award (1998), Wrocław Music Award (2002), Award of Polish Composers’ Union (2004), Annual Award of the Minister of Culture and National Heritage (2006), and the “Gloria Artis” Medal for Merit to Culture (2013). In 1994-97 she was a member of the repertoire committee of the “Warsaw Autumn” festival and in the years 1996-2008 she was a programming advisor, manager, and subsequently an artistic director of the International Festival of Polish Contemporary Music “Musica Polonica Nova”. She has been invited to join the honorary committee of the World Music Days in Wrocław in 2014.


Photo: Marta Filipczyk

Grażyna Pstrokońska-Nawratil
Works list


If you want to be up-to-date with our project, subscribe to the newsletter. You will be the first to learn about planned concerts, recordings and publications. To sign up, just enter your email and click „Sign up".


    Contact us